A glance at flight disruptions due to volcanic ash


What a mess! TGO

Refer to story below. Source: Associated Press

By The Associated Press The Associated Press Tue Apr 20, 5:36 pm ET

Airspace throughout northern and central Europe was gradually reopening Tuesday, with about half of all regular flights operating according to the Eurocontrol air traffic agency.

Britain: Transport Secretary Andrew Adonis said all British airports would be reopen from 2100GMT (1700EST), allowing passenger services into the U.K. to resume. Britain’s Civil Aviation Authority said all U.K. airspace would reopen at the same time.

Germany: Airspace closed for regular flights until further notice — except for Hamburg and Bremen airports, which were to be open for regular flights between 2100GMT Tuesday (5 p.m. EDT) and 0600GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Wednesday. Air traffic control says weather forecasts suggest that that time frame could be extended and other areas could be reopened soon.

Airlines already are being permitted to operate a limited number of flights to and from all airports — up to 800 in total Tuesday — under so-called visual flight rules.

France: Limited flights from the Paris airports to several international destinations resume Tuesday, most French airports now open to limited traffic. The government hopes 100 percent of long-haul flights and 60 percent of medium-haul flights will run Wednesday.

Netherlands: Dozens of flights depart and arrive at Amsterdam’s Schiphol Airport and the government announces that flights can now be carried out in darkness using instruments. The airport lists both canceled and departed flights Tuesday morning after the Dutch government approved flights under certain conditions. KLM lists about 40 flights due to arrive or depart. Company says it is “resuming normal operations in a phased manner.”

Sweden: Stockholm’s Arlanda airport is expected to close at 1800 GMT (2 p.m. EDT) as the ash cloud moves in over central Sweden. Airports at Skavsta, Goteborg and Malmo are also closed. Overflights at high altitude are permitted across the country.

Norway: Aviation officials opened Norwegian airspace Tuesday afternoon until at least 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT) after weather forecasts indicated the latest wave of ash would pass south of Norway. Authorities had closed airports along the southwestern coast. Oslo’s Gardermoen international airport is open for flights to and from the U.S. and some European airports. Oslo’s discount airline terminals, Torp and Rygge, are also open.

Austria: Austria: Austrian airspace remains open after permission to resume takeoffs and landings took effect at 0300 GMT Monday (11 p.m. EDT Sunday). Some flights continue to be canceled but situation improving.

Ireland: Irish Aviation Authority says Shannon airport in the west was reopening at 1200GMT (8 a.m. EDT) but the airports in Dublin and Cork remain closed until at least 1800GMT (2 p.m. EDT). Flights above 20,500 feet are permitted.

Italy: Officials say a handful of domestic flights have resumed through Milan as Italy starts reopening airports. Rome’s Leonardo da Vinci airport is clearing out waiting passengers with 22 international flights and 32 domestic. Most passengers are English and German. Alitalia said it was the first company to reactivate flights between Europe and Japan. The Italian airline also said it operated 580 flights Tuesday, including 149 international and 21 intercontinental, or more than 80 percent of a normal day’s flights.

Denmark: Several Danish airports including Copenhagen will reopen Wednesday at 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT) but close again six hours later. Airspace in northern Denmark will remain closed except for overflights at high altitude.

Switzerland: Airspace reopened to regular traffic at 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Tuesday.

Poland: The Polish Air Navigation Services Agency, said the Polish skies would open to air travel at 7 a.m. (0500 GMT) Wednesday.

The Polish airline LOT said it is preparing to resume some flights from New York and Chicago and European and domestic flights but did not give details.

Czech Republic — Airspace and airports remain open. Prague airport has confirmed two thirds of normal daily flights for Tuesday.

Slovakia — Airspace reopened since midday Monday, but Ryanair cancels all Tuesday flights from Bratislava.

Spain: Reopened all airports Sunday.

Finland: Airports closed Tuesday and extended flight restrictions until Wednesday 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT). Authorities opened airspace briefly Monday. International overflights allowed again above 31,000 feet until Thursday 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT).

Latvia: Latvian airspace open Tuesday morning, and two flights have landed at Riga International Airport.

Lithuania: Airspace is open, and first departures have taken place from Vilnius International Airport. All flights at Kaunas Airport are canceled, as are a majority of those at Vilnius.

Estonia: Tallinn Airport was open until 0700 GMT (3 a.m. EDT) and is now closed again, and will remain so until 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT).

Hungary: Hungarian airspace open since Monday, with some minor restrictions overnight. Some 15 flights departed from Budapest’s Ferihegy Airport early Tuesday to destinations including Prague, Paris, Madrid, Athens and Amsterdam.

Serbia and Montenegro: Airspace and all airports open since Sunday. Authorities expect 75 percent of flights to run.

Croatia: Airspace and all airports are open. Croatia Airlines, the national carrier, restores all domestic and international flights Tuesday.

Comments please...

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

%d bloggers like this: